Uses This

Interview

What do people use to get stuff done?

Kate Towers

Kate Towers

Fashion designer, artist

Who are you, and what do you do?

My name is Kate Towers. I live in Portland, OR, with my husband and 2 kids. I originally went to art school for graphic design and illustration, but ended up in the fashion business. It's something I've always loved and kind of fell into. I am self-taught, so sometimes I take the unmarked road to get somewhere, but the process can be enjoyable. Everything is made in my studio.

I am:

1 - a mother: short order chef, taxi driver, master of laundry and squelching sibling quarrels. I pride myself in making birthday cakes and Halloween costumes for my kids every year, even though they'd probably prefer the store bought ones.

2 - a designer: I make limited edition collections and continue to search for the ultimate way to make a living as an artist. I also feel the need to work on other kids of art and I really enjoy many outlets of creative expression, whatever I can get my hands on.

What hardware do you use?

Because my computer skills are from 1994, I prefer the old school method of cutting and pasting, with all things that I do. I use my MacBook Pro daily, to check email and "do business", an iPhone 6 for photos and general communication. For sewing I have a JUKI industrial straight stitcher, Baby Lock Imagine serger, Ginger 8" dressmaker shears, and many other small sharp tools. When I draw I like to use Pigma Micron ink pens and Prismacolor Premier markers, watercolors.

And what software?

I'm an Instagram girl and prefer to say something with an image. I don't tend to over-post and you'll generally see photos of my kids and the occasional fashion items, when they are ready for public view. The dog makes an appearance once in a while but that's about it. Not too many selfies or green smoothies. I debate deleting my Facebook account every so often, but can't seem to do it. The best way to get ahold of me is through email!

Also, my fabrics: mostly natural fiber blends, cotton, silk, linen, denim, rayon. I love interesting textures and colors. I find that fabric is the most frustrating thing about designing. There is an abundance of really hideous textiles in the world and I have a very hard time committing to something I don't love.

What would be your dream setup?

I'd love to have my own showroom, or perhaps a shared showroom and studio combo, something off the beaten path but centrally located with an abundance of natural light and industrial features, a great wall for photo shoots, a corner for messy art projects and a sink for hand dying fabrics, in-house production set up and a personal assistant :)

Previously: / Next up: